Meet Our RideProvide Program Manager

10 Oct

CarolCarol Staats is the RideProvide Program Manager, some of you may know her from talking to her on the phone when trying to schedule a ride or may have even seen her around town in one of our RideProvide cars!

Q: What attracted you to this job?
Carol: My husband (laughs), so I can live with my husband. We had a long distance relationship while we were dating and our first year of marriage was long distance too. I owned a home in NE Pennsylvania where I was also working. We spent six months trying to sell the house during the housing crash.  Then I started looking for a job because I wanted to either have a job or sell the house before I moved. It took me close to six months to find the job, I did not want just any job, I wanted the right job. One day I answered an ad on nj.com, got an interview and the rest is history.

Q:Why is transportation important for you?
Carol: Transportation is important to me because people need to get out and about.

Q:What is a favorite thing about your job?
Carol: My favorite is our riders and the service we provide to them. As one of our riders said, Ride Provide “helps me stay in my house. “

Q:Tell me something about your commute.
Carol: One way bike commuting, early spring and early fall, it’s about 12 miles. I do one way for two reasons:

  • Length of my work day
  • I like my car at the office, if I need to do a ride during the day, I can use my car

In an average week I am saving almost 50 miles/ week!
My bike commute is wonderful, most people are very courteous, I’ve had a few problems but mostly it has been nice.  Bike commute and biking for pleasure are completely different. When I bike to work, other people are driving to work so I try to be as careful as possible and try to be very courteous to the drivers, it works both ways. That’s how I look at it.  You know, we’re all just trying to get to work or we’re all just trying to get home.

Q: What was the best moment of your life?
Carol: Best moment of life: I feel like I am very blessed person and I’ve had a lot of great moments, great memories; I don’t really feel like I can just choose one.

Q: Do you have a favorite transportation/commuting story?
Carol: Not necessarily about my commuting but  … I have been to Europe two years in a row and I think they are so far advanced on their means of transportation.  I believe public transportation is much to use and much more accessible in Europe.  They also have a lot of bike commuters and even parking lots for bikes.
I think that, in some instances we have things to learn from how they handle transportation in Europe.  They have a lot more bike lanes and the drivers are very much aware of the bike riders on the road and it’s not the occasional cyclist that you see here. There are a lot of bike riders on the road over there.
The cars are much smaller than the United States. I think it’s neat that there’s a lot more bike sharing too.

Q: What is your favorite commuting app/gadget?
Carol: Audio books for commute, so hooked on them. I rarely listen to the radio, for over a year I have been just listening to my audiobooks and then I don’t care if my ride home takes an extra 5 or ten minutes because I’m into the story.

Pet Peeve:
Carol: chaos and disorganization

Q: What do you like to do in your spare time?
Hike, bike, read, kayak, I like outdoor adventures.

Q: What is your favorite food?
Carol:  Anything with pesto, pesto on pasta, pesto on grilled chicken, BLT, pizza pesto dip…anything with pesto

Thank you Carol for sharing!

 

Leave a Reply

